Back to results

Ladywell Convent & The Franciscan Centre Ladywell

Ladywell Convent, Ashstead Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1ST

  • 14 Sep 2024
  • In person

A guided tour of the house, chapel and grounds

First occupied in 1911 and previously known as Tuesley Court, the building was designed by London architect Sir Guy Dawber in an Arts and Crafts style, constructed of Bargate stone and set at intervals with leaded windows.
In 1956 the house and extensive grounds were purchased by the Franciscan Missionaries of the Divine Motherhood as their Motherhouse. Since then, the convent has been extended sensitively in the style of the original building including a magnificent chapel consecrated in 1959, with striking mosaics imported from Italy. In 2019, an extensive refurbishment project commenced, during which further examples of the original Arts & Crafts features were discovered within the Main House. The thriving Franciscan Centre provides a space for people to encounter God in the spirit of Francis and Clare of Assisi and for visitors to experience the history and missionary legacy of the Franciscan Missionaries of the Divine Motherhood.











Timings & Tours

Saturday 14 September:
Tours at 1400, 1430 and 1500 | Fully booked

Location & directions

Ladywell Convent, Ashstead Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1ST

Booking information

Pre-booking requirement:
**NOT FOUND**
Booking conditions:

Additional information

Max no of people per tour:
15
Est. tour duration:
1 hour(s)

Back to results